Anatomy & Physiology

The Female Genital Tract consists of the uterus, fallopian tubes, cervix and ovaries which produce eggs and sex hormones. The uterus (or womb) is a hollow, muscular organ where the foetus develops during pregnancy. The Fallopian tubes are canals through which an egg travels from the ovary to the uterus. Fertilization normally takes place in the tube. The cervix is a narrow region following the uterus that leads to the vagina. It secretes mucus which serves to protect against bacteria from entering the uterus. The consistency of mucus affects the passage of sperm. The vagina or birth canal serves as a passage-way during labour and as a depository for semen during intercourse. The upper part surrounds the cervix, and the lower part is protected by the labia.